Tango Revolution

2021 March 5 Past event
5 March 2021
Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra
Artistic Director and Soloist Mindaugas Bačkus (cello)
Soloist Vilhelmas Čepinskis (violin)
Programme: Ástor Piazzolla, Osvaldo Golijov

March 2021 brings the centenary of Ástor Piazzolla’s birth. This celebrated Argentinean composer and bandoneon player is considered the innovator of tango music: he developed the so-called nuevo tango style, infusing traditional tango with jazz, classical elements and experimental sounds. He also used improvisation, contrasting, intricate rhythms, and extended harmonies. Since the 1950s when he returned to Buenos Aires from his studies in Paris with Nadia Boulanger, Piazzolla has revolutionized the sound of the tango that was intended for concert use rather than dancing.
This programme of nuevo tango dedicated to Ástor Piazzolla’s centenary features the bandoneon master’s works performed by Vilhelmas Čepinskis (violin) and the Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra. We hope that the sparks of their exuberant performance will reach and kindle the spirits of listeners watching this online event.
The programme will feature the Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires), a set of four tango compositions originally scored for quintet and conceived as different compositions rather than one suite. Especially for this concert the whole set was arranged for solo violin and string orchestra by Čepinskis, a talented violinist who in the past few years has been frequently seen in the role of a composer.
The tango revolution caused by Piazzolla’s innovative work had a huge influence on various composers. Argentine-born composer Osvaldo Golijov is one them. He wrote Last Round for string orchestra as a sort of tribute to Piazzolla, which will start the programme dedicated to the great tango master.