Events and tours

ONLINE EVENT | Harp and Flute: The Enchanting Sound

2021 April 30 Past event
1 h.
Start of the Event: 6.30 pm 
Place of the event: Klaipėda Concert Hall
Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra
Artistic Director Mindaugas Bačkus
Soloist Anaïs Gaudemard (harp, France)
Conductor and Soloist Kaspar Zehnder (flute, Switzerland)
Programme: Joseph Haydn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Claude Debussy

The enchanting combination of harp and flute is the key of this programme presented by the Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra and featuring two stage partners: charming French harpist Anaïs Gaudemard and renowned Swiss flautist and conductor Kaspar Zehnder. This talented and versatile musician frequently appears at major European concert venues and festivals. He has been appointed Artistic Director of the Biel Solothurn Symphony Orchestra (Switzerland) for seven seasons in a row and Chief Conductor of the Hradec Králové Philharmonic Orchestra (The Czech Republic) since January 2018. For twenty years he has served as Artistic Director of the prestigious Murten Classics festival where the Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra had the honour to appear two times. Zehnder has also several times returned to the Klaipėda Concert Hall as a guest conductor and soloist with the orchestras, as well as chamber musician.
Anaïs Gaudemard will pay her first visit to Klaipėda. She is currently considered one the best harpists and brilliant musicians of the new generation. An internationally recognised soloist, she has garnered several important prizes, which embarked her on a fast-paced career, with regular appearances at major venues, such as the Wiener Konzerthaus, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Kölner Philharmonie, Barbican Center London, Philharmonie de Paris, Philharmonie du Luxembourg, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon, BOZAR Brussels, Konserthuset Stockholm and Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw among others.
The remarkable soloists will join the Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra in the performances of Mozart’s Concerto for flute, harp and orchestra. The programme will also include the gem of the harp repertoire – Claude Debussy’s Danse sacrée et danse profane for harp and orchestra.
The orchestra will be given a possibility to demonstrate its masterful interpretation of Viennese classics in the performance of Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 97 (from the twelve London symphonies) arranged by Johann Peter Solomon (1745‒1815) for flute, string quartet and piano ad libitum. Zehnder proposed to include this particular version in the programme by claiming that “the many reprints of these arrangements throughout Europe attest to their extraordinary success during the 19th century. Now, drawing on Salomon’s original manuscript, Christopher Hogwood has presented a new critical edition of the arrangement of Symphony No. 97, forming a welcome addition to the chamber music repertoire along with the three six-part arrangements already published.”
We invite you to watch this concert streamed live via the Klaipėda Concert Hall’s:
YouTube channel at
Facebook page at