We create for Lithuania

2018 April 6 Past event
1 h 50 min
10.00 - 14.00 €

A concert to mark 100 years of restored Lithuania
Start of the Event: 6.30 PM

St Christopher Chamber Orchestra of Vilnius Municipality
Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Modestas Barkauskas

Artistic Director Emeritus Donatas Katkus

Soloists: Liudas Mockūnas (saxophone), “Kaskados” Piano Trio: Rusnė Mataitytė (violin), Edmundas Kulikauskas (cello), Albina Šikšniūtė (piano)

Osvaldas Balakauskas – Spengla Ūla
Raminta Šerkšnytė – Concerto for saxophone and chamber orchestra
Gintaras Sodeika – Tuba plumbum DNG for saxophone and chamber orchestra
Dominykas Digimas – No sense
Rytis Juškaitis – Movement is everything, goal is nothing
Loreta Narvilaitė – My Spaces Escape the Cities of Industrial Sorrow

Last year Donatas Katkus, founder and long-standing artistic director of St Christopher Chamber Orchestra, passed his position at the helm of the orchestra over to his younger colleague, Modestas Barkauskas. The latter soon proved his competence and fulfilled expectations by winning the Bronze baton at the Grzegorz Fitelberg International Competition for Conductor in Poland.

This time the stands of Mr. Barkauskas and the orchestra members will be reserved solely for Lithuanian music. For many years the orchestra has been praised for respectful collaboration with and commitment to Lithuanian composers. For music lives only when it is being played.

The programme “We Create for Lithuania” presents a broad retrospective of Lithuanian music – from the living classic, in the person of 80-year-old Osvaldas Balakauskas, to Rytis Juškaitis who has just embarked on his composition studies in the UK.

The stunning pieces by Raminta Šerkšnytė and Gintaras Sodeika will feature saxophonist and composer Liudas Mockūnas as a soloist with the orchestra. According to Jūratė Kučinskaitė, his name “stands for masterly performance and compositional contrivance.” Among other works, there will be also a piece by Dominykas Digimas, a young composer whose pieces have garnered three prizes at the Best Works of the Year 2017 Awards.
The experienced “Kaskados” Piano Trio will join St Christopher Chamber Orchestra in the performance of Loreta Narvilaitė’s composition, in which “the pulsing stream of sounds, thrusting its way forwards and upwards, dispels clouds above the city of industrial sadness…”